And Now, For Something Entirely Different…

My new book, Dodging Shells, has finally been published. And if you were expecting something more along the biblical line, you’re in for a surprise!

Just when you thought I’d spared you all those tedious battles in the Old Testament, I hit you with The Big One. Yes, I mean World War II.

When the war broke out in Europe, thousands of Canadian schoolboys flocked to enlist. They had no idea what they were getting into–how could they? But the world needed saving, and they were eager to do the job.

Dodging Shells lets you into the mind of one of those boys, and I think you’re going to like it there. Oh, there’s plenty of grit and sweat and blood–it was a nasty bitch of a war, after all, and Tommy’s fighting in the front lines. But his letters to his twin sister in Toronto show all the spunk and fun he brought over from home–he’ll keep you laughing.

Why am I the one to tell the story? Well, on this blog, I’ll be filling you in on that, as well as a lot of other things about Tommy, and Toronto during wartime. I’ll post a poll, and you can tell me what you want to know. For now, suffice it to say that in the course of writing the book, I’ve learned how to fire a WWII mortar. Okay, I’ve never actually seen one in person, but I’d recognize one if it appeared, in pieces, on my front lawn, and my enemies would have cause for mild concern. Can you say the same? (If you can, you’ll love the book.)

Subscribe to the blog, and you won’t miss a thing.

About Wendy Bertsch

I’m a Canadian author—a pragmatic optimist with rather eclectic interests and a pervasive sense of humour. Toronto born and bred, I live by the lake with a motley array of dogs and a cat, all but myself being of unknown origin, in a comfortable old house filled with books. Over a thousand books. Books in every nook and cranny. And now, since there can never be too many books, I'm writing more. Once More, From the Beginning highlights the women in the bible. It's about time! And believe me, they see things quite differently. And in Dodging Shells, you'll meet the irrepressible Tommy, as he fights his way through Italy in World War II. You'll love Tommy. I do. Next? Well, that's a secret yet. Stay tuned... I recently initiated the fledgling Ocean Highway Books, providing editing, formatting and cover design services to authors wishing to self-publish.
This entry was posted in author, Dodging Shells, humour, World War II and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And Now, For Something Entirely Different…

  1. I’ll tell him you said so!
    He’ll be delighted. You must have deduced from the photo on the cover that modesty is not his strong suit.

  2. I have already read and enjoyed your first book Once More From The Beginning, and while Dodging Shells is clearly not on the same subject, your delightful witty and engaging writing is the same! I found Dodging Shells both funny and poignant and hugely entertaining. You write (apparently effortlessly) about dark events in such a way as to make them palatable. A great read and Tommy is a charming character! I’ve loved getting to know him.

Leave a Reply

